Customer reviews for Mohawk smartstrandsilk

Mohawk smartstrandsilk

smartstrandsilk
Overall rating:
4.243 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
28 out of 36(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for smartstrandsilk
Review 1 for smartstrandsilk
This review is fromcarpet.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smart Strand Carpet

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromKitchener, ON, Canada
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absoultely love this product!! I have had nothing but positive feed back from customers regarding the softness and stain resistance of smart strand. I have made an area rug for myself with this product and even my animals love rolling around in it. I have nothing but good things to say about this carpet i would recommend it to anyone and everyone!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for smartstrandsilk
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So soft you could sleep on it

PostedApril 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromYulee, FL, USA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The new SmartStrand Silk product like contains the softest, most luxurious feeling carpet to date. The fine yarn denier not only gives SmartStrand Silk that silky feeling, it also increases the yarn strength by adding more strands of fiber to the yarn. Just like by adding more sticks to a bundle makes it harder to break.
Pros:Softness, Soil resistance, Stain resistance, Color, Stays clean and wears well
Cons:None
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for smartstrandsilk
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Softest Carpet in the world

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
  • Expert
 • fromNaperville, IL, USA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This carpet really does feel like silk! Holds up awesome has great colors. Hope they come out with additional styles soon!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for smartstrandsilk
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall Great Product with Excellent Durability

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromGeneva, IL, USA
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have had this carpet in our home for almost 2 years now and it looks and feels like we just put it in yesterday! It is by far the softest carpet you will EVER feel, and people just love touching it, laying on it, and walking on it with bare feet!
My only concern has been that the higher pile, better, and higher priced version that we put in our master bedroom definitely has a higher tendency to show movement. Meaning, it's not wearing down, but when you "brush" it one way it's lighter and yet much darker the other way so you can really tell when it's been freshly vacuumed and then when someone has walked on it. It's not THAT big of a deal, but to some people it might be.
Otherwise, I really appreciate the free cleaning solution that I get from the store that I purchased the carpet from (because you're only supposed to use the one kind) and it's really easy to clean up spills, pet accidents, etc. and I haven't had ANY stains or anything yet!
Pros:beautiful, stain resistant, super soft, great color choices, durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Mohawk FlooringBy LauraMohawkSeptember 13, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with SmartStrand Silk. We love to hear that you’re still enjoying its incredible softness and ease of care after two years of having it in your home. We really appreciate your sharing as well that movement on this premium soft carpet is not a sign of wear and tear! In fact, part of the beauty of SmartStrand Silk is the fiber’s exceptional durability. In terms of cleaning products, many stains will come out with just water, and beyond that the key is to choose a mild, low-residue cleaning product that’s approved by the Carpet and Rug Institute (CRI). We’re glad you’re getting such a great deal on one from your retailer, and you can also find mild, CRI-approved carpet cleaning products in stores. Thank you again for leaving a very informative review!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for smartstrandsilk
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very impressed

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromPennsylvania, USA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spent a very long time researching carpets, and I finally told my wife that I think we should buy smartstrand silk. We are both retired now ....living on fixed incomes....so we wanted a carpet that would last a long time. Also, we have always had 2 Siamese cats in our 42 years of marriage and these are our 3rd pair...guess we liked Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young,s song that said "with 2 cats in the yard ...life used to be so hard....now everything is easy cause of you". Sooooooooo I found out that there is NO carpet sold that will warrant against cat vomit. But smartstrand silk seemed to be the best choice for cleaning it up. I was also concerned about offgassing and environmental polluting ..Well...so far I can attest to the ease in cleaning up cat puke. Three times so far.....and it came up with ease.......kind of laid on the carpet instead of sinking into it. It was easy to scoop off and wipe and dry with a paper towel. There was also no offgassing as far as I could smell....might be because the installer had our brand in stock ,.but I tried to keep the windows open as long as possible for 3 days like they suggested.. And since 1/3 of the carpet is made from corn, I felt like we had done our share for the environment too. We have had many compliments on the new carpet.....especially on how soft it is......even tho we got the carpet with the smallest height of thickness.....using the smartcushion seemed to make the carpet feel thick and soft. So my wife and I are very satisfied with our purchase and want to thank you.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Mohawk FlooringBy JordanMohawkAugust 14, 2014
Thank YOU for leaving a review and telling us about your great experience with SmartStrand Silk! We’re so happy to hear that you, your kitties and your guests have been enjoying the new carpet’s soft and plush feel as well as its stain-resisting capabilities. Thank you for choosing Mohawk.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for smartstrandsilk
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding carpet!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromLos Lunas, NM, USA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had our carpet installed 6 weeks ago and are so pleased. We chose a light tan Flaxen, which has really opened up our rooms. The more we vacuum, the softer it becomes! We kept some remnants after the installation and for a week, my husband kept trying to "ruin it." Yellow mustard ground in, wet coffee grounds, chocolate syrup, grape juice. He'd leave me to clean it; pretty quick process following the care guidelines. The big test was pouring full strength bleach directly on it; can't even tell! We have indoor rambunctious dogs and for the first time, I don't need to worry about them destroying our carpet! We have had no problem vacuuming (with old model kirby and newer Shark Navigator). The one comment made that you can see footprints... that is true. The carpet is very soft so you do see indentations after vacuuming, though they also can be erased by sweeping your feet over it. Highly recommend this carpet! (BTW, our tests explain why the lifetime warranty requires professional extraction cleaning at least every 18 months; soil is easily removed from the fibers but some can be seen on the backing.)
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Mohawk FlooringBy JordanMohawkJuly 8, 2014
Thanks for leaving a great review and telling us about your SmartStrand Silk experience! We’re happy to hear that our carpet passed all of your stain tests, and we hope you and your family enjoy your new floors!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for smartstrandsilk
This review is fromcarpet.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would Definitely Recommend

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
We have had our Smart Strand Carpet Bound Rug for over 4 months now and couldn't be more pleased. We entertain hundreds of people, have kids and it's stood up to the foot traffic already.
Based on the Stain resistant guarantee, I went with a lighter color hoping stains would come out like they promised and any spots caused by the kids or food have come right up.
It warms up our house and we just love how it looks!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Mohawk FlooringBy JordanMohawkMay 1, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review and telling us about your great experience with SmartStrand! We love that the bound carpet warms up your home.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for smartstrandsilk
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great carpet, easy cleaning

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromMalvern, PA 19355, USA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
We had Mohawk SilkStrand carpet installed in our basement two weeks ago. It looks amazing and the feel when walking on it is fantastic. It is very soft and even smooth to the touch.
Vacuuming has been effortless. I cannot understand what all the complaints on this review blog are about vacuuming. Our vacuum is nothing special and all I have to do is adjust it to its highest setting off the floor. The carpet looks great again in no time. We have only had one minor spot so far (since it is now a no-shoe zone) and it cleaned up by dabbing it with a wet paper towel.
BTW, I rated Durability as "Good" since we have only had the carpet for a short time.
Now if you'll excuse me, I'm going to go lie on the floor and enjoy the silky softness of this great new carpet.
Pros:look, feel, easy vacuuming, easy spot cleaning
Cons:none!
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Mohawk FlooringBy JordanMohawkFebruary 10, 2014
We love that you're enjoying your new Mohawk SmartStrand Silk carpet! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for smartstrandsilk
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product for cat owners

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromillinois
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This carpet looks gorgeous.....it doesn't attract cat hair., and cat vomit cleans up completely with water!!!! I put 5 for durability but that category is not really applicable since I have only had the carpet for 9 months
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Mohawk FlooringBy JordanMohawkFebruary 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your Mohawk carpet experience. We're glad that you love your new floors!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for smartstrandsilk
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Silk for Son's Bedroom

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromCross Plains, WI 53528, USA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am so pleased with my Mohawk Smartstrand Silk carpet purchase for my son's room. When the 55 gallon fish tank exploded it was time for new carpet. The carpet is so soft that the kids spend more time on the floor playing and reading than I ever would have guessed. Special thanks to Nonn's Flooring in Middleton for the quick, personalized service and wonderful installation experience. It's been 4 months since we had the carpet installed and I am still so happy with the decision to go with Silk.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Mohawk FlooringBy JordanMohawkJanuary 6, 2014
Hi Karen! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and tell us about your pleasant experience with your new SmartStrand Silk carpet. We love that your children are having a great time playing on it as well!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for smartstrandsilk
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vacuums

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromCass City, MI 48726, USA
Can someone please tell me (and be specific) on which vacuum to use on the Smartstrand Silk? I love the carpet but if I can't vacuum it I am not going to keep it. I live 45 miles from a big city and can't run back and forth trying out vacuums.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Mohawk FlooringBy JordanMohawkDecember 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for your frustration. When it comes to vacuums, one size does not fit all, and it’s important to note that your current vacuum may not work as well on your fabulous new soft carpet. Over the past several years, vacuum manufacturers have focused on creating extremely high suction vacuums. High suction vacuums perform well on low pile carpets and hard surface flooring. However, most do not work well on thicker, high pile carpets, like Mohawk’s softest offerings. Premium soft carpet pairs best with a vacuum that has a beater bar with adjustable height and wide wheels to help keep the vacuum higher & more flexible.

Mohawk has conducted in-depth vacuum testing and noted the feedback from our soft carpet customers to create an updated and CRI (Carpet & Rug Institute) approved list of recommended vacuums. You will find the list here:
http://www.mohawkflooring.com/vacuu.... We hope this site and information will provide a solution to your vacuuming challenges.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Replies (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted bySusan01
 
Please wait while more information about Susan01 is loaded.
Additional information about Susan01 could not be loaded.
onOctober 5, 2014
I also am having problems finding a vacuum that works. I have tried four of the suggested vacuums with no luck. Just to clarify, the Bissell does glide over the carpet, but it is so heavy that I can not manipulate it, especially on the stairs.. I have back problems and need a light-weight vacuum. My current vacuum in an Oreck. I did try the Oreck on the suggested list, and it had too much suction and will not glide across the carpet.
Needless to say, I am frustrated. I have had my carpet for 2 weeks and have not been able to vacuum it.
It is beautiful and very soft, as advertised.
Now I need help in how to keep it clean. Suggestions on a light-weight vacuum will be appreciated.
Or I will have to reconsider replacing the carpet with something a person with a bad back can vacuum.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byOzzy
 
Please wait while more information about Ozzy is loaded.
Additional information about Ozzy could not be loaded.
onMay 12, 2013
I took a piece of the carpet to Sears and tried different vacuums on the carpet. I found the easiest one to vacuum with is the Hover Windtunnel Self Propelled Automoteur. It makes this carpet very easy to vacuum. Now that I found a vacuum I wish my whole house was in the Smartstrand Silk. It's so hard to explain to people how soft this carpet is so I tell them it's like taking a shower. You have water then you have water that is silky smooth from a water softner. Carpet is like the same you have carpet then you have the smartstrand silk. I am very pleased with this carpet. :)
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Replies (2)
Review 12 for smartstrandsilk
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smartstrandsilk is a wonderful product that I would recommend to anyone.

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromRinggold, GA 30736, USA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I say without hesitation that this is the most amazing carpet I have ever owned. The feel of the carpet is unbelievably soft and feels great to walk on in your bare feet. I have no doubt the durability of this carpet will outlast any carpet I have ever owned.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Mohawk FlooringBy RachelMohawkJanuary 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We love hearing from our customers, and we are absolutely delighted that you adore your new SmartStrand Silk carpet. It will take care of you for many years to come!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for smartstrandsilk
This review is fromcarpet.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding carpet

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromdelaware,usa
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
really pleased with the look and feel of the carpet.
when you buy by looking at a small sample you find yourself pleased when the final installation rewards you with a beautiful looking and super soft feeling as you walk on it.
really enjoying investimant
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for smartstrandsilk
This review is fromcarpet.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best carpet ever!

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromKings Mills, OH, USA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We love our new carpet it looks great in our home! It is great for our one year old also! Because its soft. cushioned, and its safe for him to roll around on! Especially when he gets a little attitude and throws a mini temper tantrum. He likes to throw his head back on the floor, luckily we have that carpet it really protects him from any extra fussiness accumulated with his mini temp tant! As well it is marvelous to walk and lay on! Thank you we love it! The colors in it really compliment our decor which I feel the carpet is a decor in itself!
Pros:Softness, Soil resistance, Stain resistance, Color, Stays clean and wears well
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for smartstrandsilk
This review is fromcarpet.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carpet

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromGainesville, GA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used Mohawk 3 times in the past. Someone talked me into using another brand when I built my house I am in now. BIG mistake. I am replacing my carpet again soon and it will be Mohawk. Mohawk is easy to clean and durable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for smartstrandsilk
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is an update to previous review *very difficult to vacuum*

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromEdmond, OK, USA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wrote a review on 9/18/12 about the difficulty in vacuuming my smartstrand silk carpet with my dyson vacuum. I had little hope that a different vacuum would help after reading other reviews but found that the Hoover Windtunnel T-Series works well if you move it to the higher level. I bought the Dyson primarily because I was fed up with vacuum belts and the Hoover does have a belt to deal with but if you want the softest carpet available, I'd suggest the Windtunnel! My original review is located in Smartstrand category.
Pros:softest carpet available, hoover windtunnel t-series vacuums well on it
Cons:way too hard to vacuum with your dyson vacuum
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Replies (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byCrissy321
 
Please wait while more information about Crissy321 is loaded.
Additional information about Crissy321 could not be loaded.
onNovember 7, 2012
They should be getting paid by Hoover. When you call them and tell them that one of the best vacuums on on the market, Dyson, doesn't work they tell you that you shouldn't use a vacuum designed to pick up a bowling ball. Then they proceed to give you a list of Hoover vacuums that will work but fail to tell you that if you have hard surfaces you want to vacuum that the Hoovers they recommend don't pick up very much.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byCrissy321
 
Please wait while more information about Crissy321 is loaded.
Additional information about Crissy321 could not be loaded.
onNovember 5, 2012
I too bought the Hoover Windtunnel. It worked and I was actually able to push it. I have a problem with it though. You cannot turn off the beater brush and half of my house is hardwood. I must keep looking I guess.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Replies (2)
Review 17 for smartstrandsilk
This review is fromcarpet.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love my new carpet

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromKokomo, Indiana
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my new carpet - is beautiful, Walks on like a dream.
Easy to sweep and does not show traffic pattern
Pros:Softness, Soil resistance, Stain resistance, Color, Stays clean and wears well
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for smartstrandsilk
This review is fromcarpet.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful carpet

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromClarence Center, NY
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are very pleased with the appearance and texture of our new Mohawk carpet. It has only been installed for a few months but we are really enjoying it. At this time I am unable to rate it's durability as it's only been in place since the end of June. Would certainly recommend this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for smartstrandsilk
This review is fromcarpet.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So nice looking

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromColumbus, OH, USA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This carpet is the best brand and lush without feeling bulky. It vacuums easily and looks great. Thank you, Mohawk! The color is perfect and friends and family notice and comment on how nice it looks. We made the right choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for smartstrandsilk
This review is fromcarpet.
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Carpet Wilshire # 717

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Reviewed by 
 • fromManassas, VA, USA
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The carpet looks beautiful. Installation was fast and efficient.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>